Gingerbread house!

It feels like ages since I’ve blogged, and it has been too. I’ve just been so unbeliavably busy! In the end of November my parents came to see us, then it was suddenly December and so many things were just piling up. Christmas cards, presents, calenders, you name it. I’ll be doing quite a bit of blogging now, seeing as I got to catch up.

On sunday (last sunday obviously) I decided it was time to make the years first gingerbread house! The dough has to sit for a minimum of 12 hours so I made it when we came home from the parents-in-law. Then in the morning, monday, I went to Tesco and picked up plenty of icing sugar and decorative stuff. My only grudge was that Tesco didnt have gingerbread shape cutters. Or whatever their proper name is. But you get what I mean, the little cutters that makes gingerbread men, women reindeers and such.

I especially needed the star cutters ones because I was going to make a star-tree. Seeing as Tesco didnt have any I cut whatever I needed out in white cardboard, the gingerbread stencils as well.

2 side walls and back and front wall!

Cooked walls

Cut out some hearts too

Stiking it together with melted sugar. Some people use icing sugar and egg whites, but I still swear by the melted sugar!

Here its got the roof on it.

Making the star tree by gluing together cut out stars. And yes, one of the stars got a bit burned. LOL!

Looking a bit like a pine tree, dont you think? (and you can see my nice stencils in the background)

After I had started to do the roof of the house I realised thats usually what you do last.. Plonker!

I got a bit eager and forgot to take picture “every step” so here it is – Finished!

It started out good, but it wasnt as nice as I hoped it would be.

Tree finished with icing on it so now it looks like a pine tree with snow on it! : )

There they are – finished on my kitchen window sill and the entire image spoiled by the green grass in the background..

I also made some hearts to hang in the window. It has all our names on them.

Do you like edible christmas decorations?

If you wish to make proper norwegian gingerbread cookies/men for christmas here is the recipe:

  • 250 gram sugar
  • 200 ml (2 dl)  golden syrup
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1 tbs ground ginger
  • 1 tbs ground cloves
  • 250 grams butter ( i prefer proper butter. If you’re going to sin, do it right)
  • 1 tbs bicarbonate soda/baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 650-800 grams flour. (I used bread flour because I was out of everything else, so either plain flour or bread flour will do)

Put that on gasmark 7 for between 6-10 minutes. Mine were in for exactly 7 and a half min.

Put sugar and syrup in a saucepan. Stir while its melting together and let it boil for about 3 minutes.

Then add all your spices and stir properly so there are no lumps.

Add your bicarbonate soda or baking powder while stirring. Your mix will now swell a little bit and become alot lighter in colour. Dont worry, its supposed to be that way.

Then have your butter already chopped up in a different bowl and pour your hot mixture over that and stir till the butter is all melted into the mixture.

Add your eggs then your flour. Just keep adding flour till the dought is nice and firm. This dough needs ALOT of flour before it goes dry so dont worry.

Then cover it with clingfilm or foil and chuck it in the fridge for atleast 12 hours. Its good do to so over night.

Do you usually make gingerbread cookies for christmas?

 

(click on the pictures for fullsize)

2 responses to “Gingerbread house!

Leave a Reply

