Disguise the vegetables

No one is perfect, and unfortunately my little Jacob isn’t either. Well, lets not go that far – he isn’t perfect in all aspects. *smiles*

Jake isn’t really fussy when it comes to food, but sometimes I have more struggles that I would like when it comes to vegetables. However, that is not because he doesn’t like them, I think half of it is where he is and how it is served.

Peas for example.

He loves eating peas when we are out, lets say at the pub, but won’t eat them at home.

Apples

Will eat it when served at the baby group, but not at home.

Broccoli.

He will eat his broccoli at nanny’s house, but not at home.

You get the idea.

So I’ve started to “hide” the vegetables in his food. Now, I know this is an ancient phenomenon amongst parents, but I never expected to have to do that with Jake. He is perfect, you know.

It is really easy though, to hide it. I do it with nearly everything! Spaghetti bolognese, mashed potato, or like today – pizza sauce!

Start the pizza dough off, any will do (use a very simple one which you can either let rise or not)

Dough

200 ml of luke warm water

1 pack of dried years (7 grams)

1 tablespoon oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

500 ml flour (bread flour works fine)

I added some mixed herbs and some cheese to the dough to make it a bit tasty

Start off with activating the yeast in the warm water. (just pour the pack of yeast into the warm water and leave) Mix the flour, salt, herbs and cheese together. Then add the oil and the water/yeast mixture. You will know your yeast is activated by smell and also if it has started to dissolve. Now just mix all together, add a bit more flour if the dough is sticky. Leave the dough in the bowl to rise, if you’re impatient like me, turn the oven on to 90 degrees for 5-10 minutes, then turn off and stick the bowl in the oven. Its supposed to rise for 1 hour, but I get just as a good result at 30 min.

While dough is rising, break out your sauce ingredients. Today I decided Jake was going to have cauliflower, broccoli, carrot and parsnip for his vegetables, so I cut them in small chunks and boiled for about 15 min (or until soft). Leave about 2 tablespoons of the water they were boiled in, then take the hand blender and make it all into a puree in a bowl. After it was all smooth, I added a generous spoon of tomato puree and some  fresh garlic.

DSC_0509Pureed vegetable in the large clear bowl, a fresh garlic cube (I use the fresh 100% frozen garlic cubes from Tesco), a tin of tomato puree and all the ingredients mixed in the blue bowl.

DSC_0510Roll out pizza dough on a baking tray with baking paper on.

DSC_0511Spread the vegetable puree on the pizza base

DSC_0512Add desired topping, I used some Mattersons Smoked pork sausage. Jacob loves this one.

DSC_0513Then top with some strong cheese and pop in a preheated oven for about 10-15 minutes at 200 degrees or gasmark 6.

DSC_0515Let to cool, and serve!

DSC_0516Nommy!

It might take a little bit of imagination, but it is really easy to make good food without any preservatives. I make everything for Jacob from scratch and he really enjoys the food. He is a little in depended git and wants to eat everything himself. Not a big fan of mummy helping him eat. He looks says “I’m one and a half mummy, going on 5 – now give that spoon so I can drop it on my lap and let the dog have it” – thank heavens for the dog!

2 responses to “Disguise the vegetables

Leave a Reply

